People

Principal Investigator
Area of Interest
Walter Jetz's picture Walter Jetz
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and of Forestry and Environmental Studies
165 Prospect Street, New Haven, Connecticut 06511
walter.jetz@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-7540
Ecology, Global Biodiversity Science, Global Change Biology, Ecoinformatics
Staff
Area of Interest
Megan Blake's picture Megan Blake
Senior Administrative Assistant
megan.blake@yale.edu
Anna Schuerkmann's picture Anna Schuerkmann
Program Manager
anna.schuerkmann@yale.edu
Research Scientist
Area of Interest
Bort Edwards's picture Bort Edwards
Research Scientist
robert.edwards@yale.edu
Diversity and Conservation of Plants
Charlie Marsh's picture Charlie Marsh
Research Scientist in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
charliem2003@gmail.com
Spatial Ecology; Beta-Diversity; Spatial Scaling; Tropical Ecology; Species Distribution Models
Scott Rinnan's picture Scott Rinnan
Project Manager & Research Scientist
scott.rinnan@yale.edu
Population Dynamics, Animal Behavior, Animal Movement, Climate Change, Species Distributions
gabriel.reygondeau's picture gabriel.reygondeau
Research Scientist in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
gabriel.reygondeau@yale.edu
Global Biodiversity, Global Marine Ecosystems, Marine Biogeography, Climate Change
Map of Life
Area of Interest
Jennifer McGowan's picture Jennifer McGowan
Research Scientist
jennifer.mcgowan@tnc.org
Decision-science, systematic conservation planning, spatial prioritization, conservation finance
Rob Anderson's picture Rob Anderson
Post Grad Associate
robert.anderson.ra685@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Species Interactions, Mapping, Conservation, Ornithology
Isabel Del Toro Mijares's picture Isabel Del Toro Mijares
Research Assistant
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
isabel.deltoromijares@yale.edu
Kalkidan Fekadu's picture Kalkidan Fekadu
Incoming Postgraduate Associate
kalkidan.fekadu@yale.edu
Remote Sensing and Machine Learning
Kate Ingenloff's picture Kate Ingenloff
Research Associate
kathryn.ingenloff@yale.edu
Biodiversity Informatics; Active Advocate for the Development of Open-Access Biodiversity Data and Resource
Ajay Ranipeta's picture Ajay Ranipeta
Lead Software Engineer
ajay.ranipeta@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Biodiversity, Spatial Ecology, Mapping, Data Analysis
Yanina Sica's picture Yanina Sica
Data Manager & Research Associate
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
yanina.sica@yale.edu
Biodiversity Conservation, Species Distribution Modelling, Spatial Ecology, Land Use/Land Cover Change Modelling
Jessica Vigneron's picture Jessica Vigneron
Post Grad Associate
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
jessica.vigneron@yale.edu
Cognitive Ecology, Behavioural Ecology, Animal Behaviour, Cognition, Machine Learning, Statistical Modelling, Tropical Ecology, Conservation, Primatology, Mammalogy.
John Wilshire's picture John Wilshire
Software Engineer
john.wilshire@yale.edu
Plants, Birds, Ecology and Evolution
Postdoctoral Researcher
Area of Interest
Douglas Booher's picture Douglas Booher
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
doug.booher@yale.edu
Global Diversity, Geographic Distribution, and Conservation of Ants
Fabiola Iannarilli's picture Fabiola Iannarilli
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
fabiola.iannarilli@yale.edu
Variation of Animal Distribution and Abundance in Space and Time
Brett Jesmer's picture Brett Jesmer
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
brett.jesmer@yale.edu
Movement Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Foraging Ecology, Nutritional Ecology, Demography, Conservation and Management of Mammals
Jussi Mäkinen's picture Jussi Mäkinen
Incoming Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
jussi.makinen@yale.edu
Spatial Ecology, Statistics and Conservation
Aurore Maureaud's picture Aurore Maureaud
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
aurore.maureaud@yale.edu
Marine life and the complexity of ecosystems
Ruth Oliver's picture Ruth Oliver
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
ruth.oliver@yale.edu
Global Biodiversity, Macroecology, Climate Change, Bioacoustics, Remote Sensing, Machine Learning
Stefan Pinkert's picture Stefan Pinkert
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
stefan.pinkert@yale.edu
Diversity, Geographic Distribution, and Conservation of Butterflies
Emily Sandall's picture Emily Sandall
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
emily.sandall@yale.edu
Functional Morphology and Mechanics, Biodiversity, and Distributional Traits of Dragonflies and Damselflies
Kevin Winner's picture Kevin Winner
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
kevin.winner@yale.edu
Joint Species Distribution Models, Spatial Models, Point Processes, Machine Learning, Statistical Ecology, Discrete Statistics, Kernel Methods, Metacommunity Dynamics, Abundance Dynamics, Movement Ecology
PhD Student
Area of Interest
Ben Carlson's picture Ben Carlson
PhD Candidate
ben.carlson@yale.edu
Movement Ecology, Resource Selection, Remote Sensing, GIS, Informatics, Conservation
Diego Ellis Soto's picture Diego Ellis Soto
PhD Student
diego.ellissoto@yale.edu
Movement ecology, island biogeography, tropical biodiversity, eco-informatics
Richard Li's picture Richard Li
PhD Student
richard.li.rl839@yale.edu
Urban Ecology, Invasion Ecology, Biogeography, Botany, Ornithology
Muyang Lu's picture Muyang Lu
PhD Candidate
muyang.lu@yale.edu
Macroecology, Macroevolution, Biogeography, Biodiversity Conservation
Shubhi Sharma's picture Shubhi Sharma, MSc
PhD Student
shubham.sharma@duke.edu
Spatial biodiversity science; Statistical ecology; Quantitative ecology
Former Postdoc or Graduate Student
Area of Interest
Carsten Meyer's picture Carsten Meyer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
carsten.meyer@idiv.de
Group Leader, iDiv, Germany
Chia-Ying Ko's picture Chia-Ying Ko
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
cyko235@ntu.edu.tw
Faculty, Institute of Fisheries Science and Department of Life Science, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
Mao-Ning Tuanmu's picture Mao-Ning Tuanmu
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
mntuanmu@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Assistant Research Fellow (tenure-track faculty) - Biodiversity Research Center, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan
Holger Kreft's picture Holger Kreft
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
hkreft@uni-goettingen.de
Professor, Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology, University of Göttingen
Lauren Buckley's picture Lauren Buckley
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
lbuckley@uw.edu
Associate Professor, University of Washington Seattle
Adam M. Wilson's picture Adam M. Wilson
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
adamw@buffalo.edu
Assistant Professor, University of Buffalo
Dan Rosauer's picture Dan Rosauer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
dan.rosauer@anu.edu.au
Research Fellow, Australian National University, Canberra
W. Daniel Kissling's picture W. Daniel Kissling
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
W.D.Kissling@uva.nl
Associate Professor of Quantitative Biodiversity Science, University of Amsterdam
Alison G. Boyer's picture Alison G. Boyer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
alison.boyer@utk.edu
Research Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee
Haibao Ren's picture Haibao Ren
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
renhb@ibcas.ac.cn
Assistant Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences
James Watson's picture James Watson
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
james.watson@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Frank A La Sorte's picture Frank A La Sorte
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
fal42@cornell.edu
Research Scientist, The Cornell Lab of Ornithology
Natalie Cooper's picture Natalie Cooper
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
natalie.cooper@nhm.ac.uk
Staff Scientist, Natural History Museum, London
Morgane Barbet-Massin's picture Morgane Barbet-Massin
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
morgane.barbet-massin@yale.edu
Postdoctoral Associate, Paris-Sud University in Orsay, France
Jonathan Belmaker's picture Jonathan Belmaker
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
jonathan.belmaker@yale.edu
Assistant Professor, Tel Aviv University
Sami Domisch's picture Sami Domisch
Former Postdoctoral Fellow
sami.domisch@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Senior postdoc at Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB)
Marta Jarzyna's picture Marta Jarzyna
Former Postdoctoral Associate
marta.jarzyna@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Assistant Professor, Ohio State University
Petr Keil's picture Petr Keil
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
petr.keil@yale.edu
Research Fellow, iDiv, Leipzig, Germany
Colin Mahony's picture Colin Mahony
colin.mahony@yale.edu
Chief Climatologist, Forest Service, British Columbia, Canada
Cory Merow's picture Cory Merow
Research Scientist
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
cory.merow@yale.edu
Assistant Research Professor, U Connecticut
Katherine Mertes's picture Katherine Mertes
Former Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
katherine.mertes@yale.edu
Postdoctoral Staff Associate, Smithsonian Institution
Ryan Powers's picture Ryan Powers
Former Postdoctoral Fellow
ryan.powers@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (778) 997-3646
Remote Sensing & GIS, Biodiversity, Conservation Biology, Landscape Ecology, Geo-visualization and Complex Systems
Ignacio Quintero's picture Ignacio Quintero
Former Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
ignacio.quintero@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 285-9464
Diversification, Macroevolution, Systematics, Phylogeography, Biogeography
Mario Ribeiro de Moura's picture Mario Ribeiro de Moura
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
mario.r.moura@yale.edu
Visiting Associate Professor, Federal University of Paraíba, Brazil
rohan.simkin's picture rohan.simkin
PhD Student
rohan.simkin@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Habitat Loss, Threatened Species, Urban Land-Use Change, Human Health
Nathan Upham's picture Nathan Upham
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
nathan.upham@yale.edu
Ecological Diversification, Biogeography, Molecular Phylogenetics, Fossil Calibration, Niche Evolution, Spatial Biodiversity
Erica Stuber's picture Erica Stuber
Research Scientist in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
erica.stuber@yale.edu
Spatial and Behavioral Ecology, Methods for Assessing Scale-Dependency, Cross-Scale Linkages, Integrated Modeling, Animal 'Personalities'
Former Undergraduate Students
Area of Interest
Gwen Antell's picture Gwen Antell
Undergraduate Student
gwen.antell@yale.edu
Behavioral Ecology, Species Distribution, Comparative Ethology, Entomology
Rebecca Beilinson's picture Rebecca Beilinson
Undergraduate Student
rebecca.beilinson@yale.edu
Conservation Biology, Macroecology, Disease Ecology, Biogeography
Former Lab Visitor
Area of Interest
Claire Baldeck's picture Claire Baldeck
Visitor
cabaldeck@gmail.com
Species Distribution mModeling, Conservation Biogeography, Tropics
Melodie McGeoch's picture Melodie McGeoch
melodie.mcgeoch@monash.edu
Ecology, Spatial Ecology, Conservation Biology, Invasion Biology, Protected Areas
Tessa Adler's picture Tessa Adler
Undergraduate Researcher
tessa.adler@yale.edu
I'm interested in scientific writing, marine biology, conservation biology, and ecosystem ecology.
Shalila de Bourmont's picture Shalila de Bourmont
Student Employee
246 Church St, New Haven, CT 06510-1703
shalila.debourmont@yale.edu
Ecology and Human Health Interactions
Victoria Dombrowik's picture Victoria Dombrowik
Research Assistant
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
victoria.dombrowik@yale.edu
Global Biodiversity, Disease Ecology, GIS, Remote Sensing
Michelle Duong's picture Michelle Duong
Former Program Manager
165 Prospect Street, New Haven, Connecticut 06511
michelle.duong@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Conservation, Ecology
Pamela Gonzalez del Pliego's picture Pamela Gonzalez del Pliego, PhD
Visiting Research Scholar
pgonzalezdelpliego@gmail.com
Dan Greenberg's picture Dan Greenberg
Visiting PhD Student
dgreebe@sfu.ca
Macroevolution, Conservation
Julie Hart's picture Julie Hart
Data and Outreach Coordinator
julie.hart@yale.edu
Amelia Linett's picture Amelia Linett
Research Assistant
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
amelia.linett@yale.edu
Climate Change, Conservation Ecology, Animal Welfare, Food Policy, Environmental Justice
Jeremy Malczyk's picture Jeremy Malczyk
Sr Software Engineer
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
jeremy.malczyk@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Jetz Lab, Map of Life
Renqiang Li
Research Scholar
renqiangli@igsnrr.ac.cn
Drew Robinett's picture Drew Robinett
Undergraduate Researcher
drew.robinett@yale.edu
Conservation Biology, Global Change Ecology, Ornithology, Science Communication
Robin Sleith's picture Robin Sleith
Former Research Assistant
robin.sleith@yale.edu
PhD student, NY Botanical Garden
Michael Torselli's picture Michael Torselli
Research Assistant
michael.torselli@yale.edu
Christopher Trisos's picture Christopher Trisos
Postdoctoral Associate
ctrisos@sesync.org
Senior Research Fellow, U Cape Town
Giuseppe Amatulli's picture Giuseppe Amatulli
Research Scientist
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
giuseppe.amatulli@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Caitlin Wolters's picture Caitlin Wolters
Front-End Web Developer
caitlin.wolters@yale.edu