People

Principal Investigator
Area of Interest
Walter Jetz's picture Walter Jetz
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and of Forestry and Environmental Studies
165 Prospect Street, New Haven, Connecticut 06511
walter.jetz@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-7540
Ecology, Global Biodiversity Science, Global Change Biology, Ecoinformatics
Former Postdoc or Graduate Student
Area of Interest
James Dorey's picture James Dorey
Postdoctoral Associate
james.dorey@yale.edu
Website
Phylogenetics, ecology, evolution, climate sciences, conservation, and biogeography
Aurore Maureaud's picture Aurore Maureaud
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
aurore.maureaud@yale.edu
Marine life and the complexity of ecosystems
Emily Sandall's picture Emily Sandall
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
emily.sandall@yale.edu
Functional Morphology and Mechanics, Biodiversity, and Distributional Traits of Dragonflies and Damselflies
Chloé Schmidt's picture Chloé Schmidt
Postdoctoral Associate
chloe.schmidt@yale.edu
macrogenetics, macroecology, population genetics, spatial modeling, conservation
Jussi Mäkinen's picture Jussi Mäkinen
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
jussi.makinen@yale.edu
Spatial Ecology, Statistics and Conservation
Ruth Oliver's picture Ruth Oliver
Associate Research Scientist
ruth.oliver@yale.edu
Global Biodiversity, Macroecology, Climate Change, Bioacoustics, Remote Sensing, Machine Learning
Scott Rinnan's picture Scott Rinnan
Project Manager & Research Scientist
scott.rinnan@yale.edu
Population Dynamics, Animal Behavior, Animal Movement, Climate Change, Species Distributions
Cory Merow's picture Cory Merow
Research Scientist
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
cory.merow@yale.edu
Assistant Research Professor, U Connecticut
Mao-Ning Tuanmu's picture Mao-Ning Tuanmu
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
mntuanmu@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Assistant Research Fellow (tenure-track faculty) - Biodiversity Research Center, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan
Holger Kreft's picture Holger Kreft
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
hkreft@uni-goettingen.de
Professor, Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology, University of Göttingen
Lauren Buckley's picture Lauren Buckley
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
lbuckley@uw.edu
Associate Professor, University of Washington Seattle
Brett Jesmer's picture Brett Jesmer
Former Postdoctoral Associate
brett.jesmer@yale.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation, Virginia Tech
Sami Domisch's picture Sami Domisch
Former Postdoctoral Fellow
sami.domisch@yale.edu
Senior postdoc at Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB)
Stefan Pinkert's picture Stefan Pinkert
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
stefanpinkert@gmx.de
Diversity, Geographic Distribution, and Conservation of Butterflies
Muyang Lu's picture Muyang Lu
muyang.lu@yale.edu
Macroecology, Macroevolution, Biogeography, Biodiversity Conservation
Adam M. Wilson's picture Adam M. Wilson
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
adamw@buffalo.edu
Assistant Professor, University of Buffalo
Dan Rosauer's picture Dan Rosauer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
dan.rosauer@anu.edu.au
Research Fellow, Australian National University, Canberra
W. Daniel Kissling's picture W. Daniel Kissling
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
W.D.Kissling@uva.nl
Associate Professor of Quantitative Biodiversity Science, University of Amsterdam
Alison G. Boyer's picture Alison G. Boyer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
alison.boyer@utk.edu
Research Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee
Scott Yanco's picture Scott Yanco
Postdoctoral Associate
scott.yanco@yale.edu
Website
MPYC: movement ecology
Mario Ribeiro de Moura's picture Mario Ribeiro de Moura
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
mario.r.moura@yale.edu
Visiting Associate Professor, Federal University of Paraíba, Brazil
gabriel.reygondeau's picture gabriel.reygondeau
Former Research Scientist
gabriel.reygondeau@yale.edu
Global Biodiversity, Global Marine Ecosystems, Marine Biogeography, Climate Change
Fabiola Iannarilli's picture Fabiola Iannarilli
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
fabiola.iannarilli@yale.edu
Variation of Animal Distribution and Abundance in Space and Time
Jonathan Belmaker's picture Jonathan Belmaker
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
jonathan.belmaker@yale.edu
Assistant Professor, Tel Aviv University
Ignacio Quintero's picture Ignacio Quintero
Former Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
ignacio.quintero@yale.edu
Diversification, Macroevolution, Systematics, Phylogeography, Biogeography
Ben Carlson's picture Ben Carlson
PhD Candidate
ben.carlson@yale.edu
Movement Ecology, Resource Selection, Remote Sensing, GIS, Informatics, Conservation
Haibao Ren's picture Haibao Ren
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
renhb@ibcas.ac.cn
Assistant Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Colin Mahony's picture Colin Mahony
colin.mahony@yale.edu
Chief Climatologist, Forest Service, British Columbia, Canada
Ryan Powers's picture Ryan Powers
Former Postdoctoral Fellow
ryan.powers@yale.edu
Remote Sensing & GIS, Biodiversity, Conservation Biology, Landscape Ecology, Geo-visualization and Complex Systems
James Watson's picture James Watson
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
james.watson@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Marta Jarzyna's picture Marta Jarzyna
Former Postdoctoral Associate
marta.jarzyna@yale.edu
Assistant Professor, Ohio State University
Frank A La Sorte's picture Frank A La Sorte
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
fal42@cornell.edu
Research Scientist, The Cornell Lab of Ornithology
Natalie Cooper's picture Natalie Cooper
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
natalie.cooper@nhm.ac.uk
Staff Scientist, Natural History Museum, London
Carsten Meyer's picture Carsten Meyer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
carsten.meyer@idiv.de
Group Leader, iDiv, Germany
rohan.simkin's picture rohan.simkin
PhD Student
rohan.simkin@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Habitat Loss, Threatened Species, Urban Land-Use Change, Human Health
Petr Keil's picture Petr Keil
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
petr.keil@yale.edu
Research Fellow, iDiv, Leipzig, Germany
Douglas Booher's picture Douglas Booher
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
doug.booher@yale.edu
Global Diversity, Geographic Distribution, and Conservation of Ants
Morgane Barbet-Massin's picture Morgane Barbet-Massin
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
morgane.barbet-massin@yale.edu
Postdoctoral Associate, Paris-Sud University in Orsay, France
Katherine Mertes's picture Katherine Mertes
Former Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
katherine.mertes@yale.edu
Postdoctoral Staff Associate, Smithsonian Institution
Arata Honda's picture Arata Honda
arata.honda@yale.edu
Conservation Biology, Community Ecology, Canopy Science, Remote Sensing
Nathan Upham's picture Nathan Upham
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
nathan.upham@yale.edu
Ecological Diversification, Biogeography, Molecular Phylogenetics, Fossil Calibration, Niche Evolution, Spatial Biodiversity
Chia-Ying Ko's picture Chia-Ying Ko
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
cyko235@ntu.edu.tw
Faculty, Institute of Fisheries Science and Department of Life Science, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
Erica Stuber's picture Erica Stuber
Research Scientist in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
erica.stuber@yale.edu
Spatial and Behavioral Ecology, Methods for Assessing Scale-Dependency, Cross-Scale Linkages, Integrated Modeling, Animal 'Personalities'
Postdoctoral Researcher
Area of Interest
Leila Fouda's picture Leila Fouda
leila.fouda@yale.edu
Movement ecology, anthropogenic stressors, life history, foraging ecology
Benjamin Kellenberger's picture Benjamin Kellenberger
Postdoctoral Associate
benjamin.kellenberger@yale.edu
Website
Species distribution modeling with remote sensing and machine (deep) learning, hybrid models
Jeremy Cohen's picture Jeremy Cohen
Postdoctoral Associate
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT, 06511
Jeremy3cohen@gmail.com
Website
Spatial modeling
PhD Student
Area of Interest
Richard Li's picture Richard Li
PhD Student
richard.li.rl839@yale.edu
Urban Ecology, Invasion Ecology, Biogeography, Botany, Ornithology
Shubhi Sharma's picture Shubhi Sharma, MSc
PhD Student
shubham.sharma@duke.edu
Phone: +1
Spatial biodiversity science; Statistical ecology; Quantitative ecology
Diego Ellis Soto's picture Diego Ellis Soto
PhD Student
diego.ellissoto@yale.edu
Movement ecology, island biogeography, tropical biodiversity, eco-informatics
Staff
Area of Interest
Tamara Rudic's picture Tamara Rudic
Science Communication Specialist
terudic@gmail.com
Website
Science communication, remote sensing, conservation, GIS, environmental education
Kevin Winner's picture Kevin Winner
Project Modeling Lead
kw689@gmail.com
Joint Species Distribution Models, Spatial Models, Point Processes, Machine Learning, Statistical Ecology, Discrete Statistics, Kernel Methods, Metacommunity Dynamics, Abundance Dynamics, Movement Ecology
Amaar Al-Hayder's picture Amaar Al-Hayder
Senior Administrative Assistant
amaar.al-hayder@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-9345
Julia Portmann's picture Julia Portmann
Research Associate
julia.portmann@yale.edu
Phone: +1
GIS, remote sensing, freshwater ecology, restoration, data management
John Wilshire's picture John Wilshire
Software Engineer
john.wilshire@yale.edu
Plants, Birds, Ecology and Evolution
Kalkidan Fekadu's picture Kalkidan Fekadu
Software Engineer
kalkidanfekadu.chefira@yale.edu
Remote Sensing and Machine Learning
Danyan Leng's picture Danyan Leng
Postgraduate Associate
danyan.leng@yale.edu
Wildlife Conservation, Movement Ecology, Data Science, GIS and Wildlife-human Interaction
Former Staff
Area of Interest
Krish Maypole's picture Krish Maypole
Former Research Assistant
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
krish.maypole@yale.edu
Macroecology, Global Change Ecology, Ornithology, Biodiversity, Conservation, Data Analysis.
Ajay Ranipeta's picture Ajay Ranipeta
Lead Software Engineer
ajay.ranipeta@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Spatial Ecology, Mapping, Data Analysis
Wendy Dorman's picture Wendy Dorman
Former Research Associate
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
wendy.dorman@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Avian Migration, Climate Change, Conservation, GIS
Julie Pham's picture Julie Pham
Software Engineer
julie.pham@yale.edu
Bort Edwards's picture Bort Edwards
Research Scientist
robert.edwards@yale.edu
Diversity and Conservation of Plants
Lia Vogas's picture Lia Vogas
Postgraduate Associate
lia.vogas@yale.edu
Jeremy Malczyk's picture Jeremy Malczyk
Sr Software Engineer
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
jeremy.malczyk@yale.edu
Jetz Lab, Map of Life
David Shen's picture David Shen
Postgraduate Associate
david.shen@yale.edu
Conservation biology, ecosystem services, species interactions
Matthew Rogan's picture Matthew Rogan
Research Associate
matthew.rogan@yale.edu
Data-informed biodiversity conservation, population modeling, carnivore conservation
Maisha Lucas's picture Maisha Lucas
Postgraduate Associate
Maisha.Lucas@yale.edu
Data Analysis, Conservation of Insects, and Environmental Policy
Cody Schank's picture Cody Schank
Former Research Assistant
cody.schank@yale.edu
Kate Ingenloff's picture Kate Ingenloff
Research Associate
kathryn.ingenloff@yale.edu
Biodiversity Informatics; Active Advocate for the Development of Open-Access Biodiversity Data and Resource
Charlie Marsh's picture Charlie Marsh
Research Scientist in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
charliem2003@gmail.com
Spatial Ecology; Beta-Diversity; Spatial Scaling; Tropical Ecology; Species Distribution Models
Clara Brandon's picture Clara Brandon
Postgraduate Associate
clara.brandon@yale.edu
Evolution, phylogenetics, biodiversity conservation, data analysis
Yanina Sica's picture Yanina Sica
Data Consultant
yanina.sica@yale.edu
Biodiversity Conservation, Species Distribution Modelling, Spatial Ecology, Land Use/Land Cover Change Modelling
Michelle Duong's picture Michelle Duong
Former Program Manager
165 Prospect Street, New Haven, Connecticut 06511
michelle.duong@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Conservation, Ecology
Jennifer McGowan's picture Jennifer McGowan
Research Associate
jennifer.mcgowan@yale.edu
Decision-science, systematic conservation planning, spatial prioritization, conservation finance
Megan Blake's picture Megan Blake
Senior Administrative Assistant
megan.blake@yale.edu
Kira McCall's picture Kira McCall
Research Associate 1
kira.mccall@yale.edu
Former Lab Visitor
Area of Interest
Jessica Vigneron's picture Jessica Vigneron
Post Grad Associate
jessica.vigneron@yale.edu
Cognitive Ecology, Behavioural Ecology, Animal Behaviour, Cognition, Machine Learning, Statistical Modelling, Tropical Ecology, Conservation, Primatology, Mammalogy.
Claire Baldeck's picture Claire Baldeck
Visitor
cabaldeck@gmail.com
Species Distribution Modeling, Conservation Biogeography, Tropics
Shalila de Bourmont's picture Shalila de Bourmont
Student Employee
246 Church St, New Haven, CT 06510-1703
shalila.debourmont@yale.edu
Ecology and Human Health Interactions
Robin Sleith's picture Robin Sleith
Former Research Assistant
robin.sleith@yale.edu
PhD student, NY Botanical Garden
Melodie McGeoch's picture Melodie McGeoch
melodie.mcgeoch@monash.edu
Ecology, Spatial Ecology, Conservation Biology, Invasion Biology, Protected Areas
Renqiang Li
Research Scholar
renqiangli@igsnrr.ac.cn
Michael Torselli's picture Michael Torselli
Research Assistant
michael.torselli@yale.edu
Christopher Trisos's picture Christopher Trisos
Postdoctoral Associate
ctrisos@sesync.org
Senior Research Fellow, U Cape Town
Amelia Linett's picture Amelia Linett
Research Assistant
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
amelia.linett@yale.edu
Climate Change, Conservation Ecology, Animal Welfare, Food Policy, Environmental Justice
Victoria Dombrowik's picture Victoria Dombrowik
Research Assistant
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
victoria.dombrowik@yale.edu
Global Biodiversity, Disease Ecology, GIS, Remote Sensing
Tessa Adler's picture Tessa Adler
Undergraduate Researcher
tessa.adler@yale.edu
I'm interested in scientific writing, marine biology, conservation biology, and ecosystem ecology.
Isabel Del Toro Mijares's picture Isabel Del Toro Mijares
Postgrad Associate
isabel.deltoromijares@yale.edu
Dan Greenberg's picture Dan Greenberg
Visiting PhD Student
dgreebe@sfu.ca
Macroevolution, Conservation
Julie Hart's picture Julie Hart
Data and Outreach Coordinator
julie.hart@yale.edu
Lukas Gabor's picture Lukas Gabor
Postdoctoral Associate
gabor@fzp.czu.cz
Website
Species Distribution Models, Various Spatial Data Quality in Species Distribution Models, Data Uncertainty in Publicly Shared Data, Remote Sensing, GIS
Drew Robinett's picture Drew Robinett
Undergraduate Researcher
drew.robinett@yale.edu
Conservation Biology, Global Change Ecology, Ornithology, Science Communication
Pamela Gonzalez del Pliego's picture Pamela Gonzalez del Pliego, PhD
Visiting Research Scholar
pgonzalezdelpliego@gmail.com
Rob Anderson's picture Rob Anderson
Post Grad Associate
robert.anderson.ra685@yale.edu
Biodiversity, Species Interactions, Mapping, Conservation, Ornithology
Giuseppe Amatulli's picture Giuseppe Amatulli
Research Scientist
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
giuseppe.amatulli@yale.edu
Caitlin Wolters's picture Caitlin Wolters
Front-End Web Developer
caitlin.wolters@yale.edu
Undergraduate Students
Area of Interest
Adin Ring's picture Adin Ring
adin.ring@yale.edu
botany, invasion ecology, restoration ecology
Former Undergraduate Students
Area of Interest
Gwen Antell's picture Gwen Antell
Undergraduate Student
gwen.antell@yale.edu
Behavioral Ecology, Species Distribution, Comparative Ethology, Entomology
Rebecca Beilinson's picture Rebecca Beilinson
Undergraduate Student
rebecca.beilinson@yale.edu
Conservation Biology, Macroecology, Disease Ecology, Biogeography