People

Principal Investigator
Area of Interest
Walter Jetz
Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and of Forestry and Environmental Studies
165 Prospect Street, New Haven, Connecticut 06511
walter.jetz@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-7540
Ecology, Global biodiversity science, Global change biology, Ecoinformatics
Research Scientist
Area of Interest
Cory Merow
Research Scientist
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
cory.merow@yale.edu
New tools for distribution modeling, Demographic distribution models, Maximum entropy and ecological theory, Plant community abundance dynamics
Postdoctoral Researcher
Area of Interest
Marta Jarzyna
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
marta.jarzyna@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Global change ecology,functional and trait biogeography, macroecology, scaling patterns of biodiversity, spatial ecology
Ryan Powers
Postdoctoral Fellow in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
ryan.powers@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (778) 997-3646
Remote Sensing & GIS, Biodiversity, Conservation Biology, Landscape Ecology, Geo-visualization and Complex Systems
Christopher Trisos
Postdoctoral Associate
ctrisos@sesync.org
Macroecology, Macroevolution
Nathan Upham
Postdoctoral Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
nathan.upham@yale.edu
Ecological diversification, biogeography, molecular phylogenetics, fossil calibration, niche evolution, spatial biodiversity
PhD Student
Area of Interest
Ben Carlson
Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
ben.carlson@yale.edu
Biodiversity informatics, remote sensing, tropical ecology, landscape ecology, conservation
Muyang Lu
Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
muyang.lu@yale.edu
Macroecology, Macroevolution, Biogeography, Biodiversity Conservation
Ignacio Quintero
Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
ignacio.quintero@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 285-9464
Diversification, Macroevolution, Systematics, Phylogeography, Biogeography
Former Postdoc or Graduate Student
Area of Interest
Katherine Mertes
Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
katherine.mertes@yale.edu
Spatial scale, species distribution patterns, remote sensing
Carsten Meyer
Postdoctoral Researcher
carsten.meyer@idiv.de
Macroecology, Biogeography, Biodiversity Knowledge Gaps
Natalie Cooper
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
natalie.cooper@nhm.ac.uk
Staff Scientist, Natural History Museum, London
Frank A La Sorte
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
fal42@cornell.edu
Research Scientist, The Cornell Lab of Ornithology
James Watson
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
james.watson@uq.edu.au
Associate Professor, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Haibao Ren
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
renhb@ibcas.ac.cn
Assistant Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Lauren Buckley
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
lbuckley@uw.edu
Associate Professor, University of Washington Seattle
Holger Kreft
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
hkreft@uni-goettingen.de
Associate Professor, Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology, University of Göttingen
Mao-Ning Tuanmu
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
mntuanmu@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Assistant Research Fellow (tenure-track faculty) - Biodiversity Research Center, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan
Chia-Ying Ko
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
cyko235@ntu.edu.tw
Faculty, Institute of Fisheries Science and Department of Life Science, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
Alison G. Boyer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
alison.boyer@utk.edu
Research Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee
W. Daniel Kissling
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
W.D.Kissling@uva.nl
Associate Professor of Quantitative Biodiversity Science, University of Amsterdam
Dan Rosauer
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
dan.rosauer@anu.edu.au
Research Fellow, Australian National University, Canberra
Adam M. Wilson
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
adamw@buffalo.edu
Assistant Professor, University of Buffalo
Morgane Barbet-Massin
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
morgane.barbet-massin@yale.edu
Postdoctoral Associate, Paris-Sud University in Orsay, France
Jonathan Belmaker
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
jonathan.belmaker@yale.edu
Assistant Professor, Tel Aviv University
Sami Domisch
Postdoctoral Fellow in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
sami.domisch@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Senior postdoc at Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB)
Petr Keil
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
petr.keil@yale.edu
Research Fellow, iDiv, Leipzig, Germany
Cody Schank
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
cody.schank@yale.edu
PhD student, University of Texas, Austin
Robin Sleith
Former Postdoctoral Researcher
robin.sleith@yale.edu
PhD student, NY Botanical Garden
Informatician
Area of Interest
Jeremy Malczyk
Sr Software Engineer
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
jeremy.malczyk@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Lead Developer, Jetz Lab, Map of Life
Ajay Ranipeta
Programmer Analyst Ecology/Evolutionary Biology
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
ajay.ranipeta@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Biodiversity, spatial, ecology, mapping and data analysis
Luis Villanueva-Rivera
Research Associate 2
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
luis.villanueva-rivera@yale.edu
Biodiversity, spatial, ecology, ecoinformatics, mapping and data analysis
Research Assistant
Area of Interest
Michelle Duong
Coordinator
165 Prospect Street, New Haven, Connecticut 06511
michelle.duong@yale.edu
Biodiversity, conservation, ecology
Visitor
Area of Interest
Diego Ellis Soto
Visiting Research Scholar
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
diego.ellissoto@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Movement ecology, island biogeography, tropical biodiversity, eco-informatics
Former Undergraduate Students
Area of Interest
Gwen Antell
Undergraduate Student
gwen.antell@yale.edu
Behavioral ecology, species distribution, comparative ethology, entomology
Rebecca Beilinson
Undergraduate Student
rebecca.beilinson@yale.edu
Conservation biology, macroecology, disease ecology, biogeography
Former Lab Visitor
Area of Interest
Claire Baldeck
Visitor
cabaldeck@gmail.com
Species distribution modeling, conservation biogeography, tropics
Tessa Adler
Undergraduate Researcher
tessa.adler@yale.edu
I'm interested in scientific writing, marine biology, conservation biology, and ecosystem ecology.
Giuseppe Amatulli
Research Scientist
165 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-8934
giuseppe.amatulli@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1597
Shalila de Bourmont
Student Employee
246 Church St, New Haven, CT 06510-1703
shalila.debourmont@yale.edu
I'm interested in the intersection between ecology and human health.
Mario Ribeiro de Moura
Visiting Assistant in Research
mario.moura@yale.edu
Biodiversity, macroecology, conservation biogeography, species distribution models, spatial ecology
Drew Robinett
Undergraduate Researcher
drew.robinett@yale.edu
My scientific interests include conservation biology, global change ecology, and ornithology, but I also love education, poetry, and music and would love to explore how the latter can get people involved in the former.